Skip to content

Our History

Big Brothers Big Sisters (BBBS) of Greater Rochester has served a five county region of Upstate New York for the past 34 years.

 

The 1960's

Following the racial riots of the 1960's, a group of African American women decided their children needed male role models. They founded the agency known as Rochester Community Involvement. At about the same time, a parallel organization was developed to work with youngsters on probation. This organization was known as Volunteers in Partnership. As these agencies developed and grew, the common ground, children matched with volunteers, became evident to funders. Local funders recommended that the agencies merge to insure financial security and avoid duplication of services.

____________________

In 1981

The joining of those two agencies by United Way did just that. The merger took place in 1978 and the agency became known as Community Partners for Youth, Inc. In 1981, the merged organization became affiliated with the national organization of Big Brothers Big Sisters of America.

_____________________

BBBSA

Big Brothers Big Sisters of America (BBBSA) is a national non-profit organization that started in 1904 to combat the rising tide of juvenile delinquency and the increase of children coming before the courts. Since then, Big Brothers Big Sisters expanded services to help children across the country and abroad. BBBS is the nation's oldest and largest youth mentoring organization. Programs in all 50 states match kids with mentors who provide meaningful friendships, helping children reach their full potential and fulfill their dreams.

______________________

BBBSR (Big Brothers Big Sister of Greater Rochester)

Today our agency serves a diverse population with 50% residing in the city and 50% residing in surrounding counties. Our children primarily come from single-parent families headed by a female. Currently, over 600 youth receive services in Ontario, Monroe, Yates, Livingston and Wayne County.

BBBSR serves over 900 youth each year through its programming. is funded through private gifts, grants, and special events.

Our Team

We are here to help you start something!

From our Executive Team to our Board of Directors, Big Brothers Big Sisters has a compassionate and dedicated group of individuals on our side that are willing to do whatever it takes to help change children’s lives for the better.

IMG_3651sm

Tina Christensen
Chief Executive Officer

tchristensen@bbbsr.org

585-301-6087

IMG_3693sm (1)

Lisa Mattoon
Chief Program Officer

lmattoon@bbbsr.org

585-704-6159

Dorothy - OFFICIAL

Dorothy Kelley
Development Officer

dkelley@bbbsr.org

585-481-4477

Laurie - OFFICIAL

Laurie Colasurdo
Accountant

lcolasurdo@bbbsr.org

 

SP

Sara Powers

School Match Specialist

spowers@bbbsr.org

315-719-1817

Floyd - OFFICIAL

Floyd Gibson Jr.
Match Support Specialist

fgibsonjr@bbbsr.org

585-397-0621

SA

Sierra Aulenbacher
Development Associate

saulenbacher@bbbsr.org

585-519-9875

Yolanda Official

Yolanda Clark
Volunteer Enrollment Specialist

yclark@bbbsr.org

585-474-9474

JB (3)

Jackie Bange
Community Engagement - Americorps Vista

jbange@bbbsr.org

585-410-0151

IMG_3718sm

Mary Jepson
Data Specialist

mjepson@bbbsr.org

585-442-2250

Yesenia Fonseca

Yesenia Fonesca
Match Support Specialist

yfonesca@bbbsr.org

585-953-1459

Tameca Official cropped

Tameca Dunning
Child Enrollment Specialist

tdunning@bbbsr.org

585-469-3413

IMG_3782sm

Krista Schrader
Community Match Specialist

kschrader@bbbsr.org

315-719-4869

BB

Brittan Blaser
 School Match Specialist

bblaser@bbbsr.org

315-576-1475

Our Leaders

Board of Directors

Leading us in the right direction

Chris Cimini
 Board President
CFO - Buckingham Properties

Bob Bartolone
Board Vice President
Regional Sales Manager - Dr. Pepper Snapple

Casey Fitzgerald
Board Secretary
Commercial Bank - JP Morgan Chase Bank

Charlie Knittle
Board Treasurer
Vice President - Royal Oak Realty Trust

Kellie Adami

 Managing Partner - Dixon Schwabl

John Balduzzi

CEO - Balduzzi Group

Adam Fay

Senior Vice President, Operations - First American Equipment Finance

Paul Guglielmo

Founder - Guglielmo Sauce

Co-Host/Producer - The Brother Wease Show

Connor Holly

Financial Advisor - Sage Rutty & Co, Inc.

Quan Hounshell 

Community Associate- Wegmans

Anne McGinnis

 Associate Attorney - Harris Beach

Timothy Muck

Partner - Barclay Damon, LLP

Jonathan Ogden

Vice President Middle Marker Banker  - Key Bank

Mike Richtmyer

Vice President of Finance- The Pike Companies

Anthony Smith

Product Engineer Manager - General Motors

Paul Sylvestri

Partner - Harter, Secrest and Emory

Kevin Tehan

Senior Benefits Consultant - Lawley Insurance

Chris Thevanesan

Store Manager - Starbucks