Our History

Big Brothers Big Sisters (BBBS) of Greater Rochester has served a five county region of Upstate New York for the past 34 years.

 

The 1960's

Following the racial riots of the 1960's, a group of African American women decided their children needed male role models. They founded the agency known as Rochester Community Involvement. At about the same time, a parallel organization was developed to work with youngsters on probation. This organization was known as Volunteers in Partnership. As these agencies developed and grew, the common ground, children matched with volunteers, became evident to funders. Local funders recommended that the agencies merge to insure financial security and avoid duplication of services.

____________________

In 1981

The joining of those two agencies by United Way did just that. The merger took place in 1978 and the agency became known as Community Partners for Youth, Inc. In 1981, the merged organization became affiliated with the national organization of Big Brothers Big Sisters of America.

_____________________

BBBSA

Big Brothers Big Sisters of America (BBBSA) is a national non-profit organization that started in 1904 to combat the rising tide of juvenile delinquency and the increase of children coming before the courts. Since then, Big Brothers Big Sisters expanded services to help children across the country and abroad. BBBS is the nation's oldest and largest youth mentoring organization. Programs in all 50 states match kids with mentors who provide meaningful friendships, helping children reach their full potential and fulfill their dreams.

______________________

BBBSR (Big Brothers Big Sister of Greater Rochester)

Today our agency serves a diverse population with 50% residing in the city and 50% residing in surrounding counties. Our children primarily come from single-parent families headed by a female. Currently, over 500 youth receive services in Ontario, Monroe, Yates, Livingston and Wayne County.

Our Team

We are here to help you start something!

From our Executive Team to our Board of Directors, Big Brothers Big Sisters has a compassionate and dedicated group of individuals on our side that are willing to do whatever it takes to help change children’s lives for the better.

IMG_3693sm (1)

Lisa Mattoon
Chief Executive  Officer

lmattoon@bbbsr.org

585-704-6159

IMG_3718sm

Mary Jepson
Program Manager of Strategy and Outcomes

mjepson@bbbsr.org

585-442-2250

 

Dorothy - OFFICIAL

Dorothy Kelley
Development Officer

dkelley@bbbsr.org

585-481-4477

Laurie - OFFICIAL

Laurie Colasurdo
Accountant

lcolasurdo@bbbsr.org

Devinedit

Devin Hott
Community Engagement Coordinator

dhott@bbbsr.org

585-410-0151

Laurenedit

Lauren Henry
Interim Development Associate

lhenry@bbbsr.org

585-953-1459

SA

Sierra Aulenbacher
Development Associate

saulenbacher@bbbsr.org

585-519-9875

IMG_3782sm

Krista Schrader
Community Match Specialist

kschrader@bbbsr.org

315-719-4869

Yolanda Official

Yolanda Clark
Volunteer Enrollment Specialist

yclark@bbbsr.org

585-474-9474

SP

Sara Powers
School Match Specialist

spowers@bbbsr.org

315-719-1817

BB

Brittan Blaser
 School Match Specialist

bblaser@bbbsr.org

315-576-1475

Will

William Whitley
 Child Enrollment Specialist

wwhitley@bbbsr.org

585-944-5593

Jason Kajet
Community Engagement and Support Specialist

jkajet@bbbsr.org

 

Vanity Fagan
Office Assistant

vfagan@bbbsr.org

585-351-3052

 

Our Leaders

Board of Directors

Leading us in the right direction

Chris Cimini
 Board President
CFO - Buckingham Properties

Charilie Knittle
Vice President
Vice President - Royal Oak Realty Trust

 

Casey Fitzgerald
Board Treasurer
Executive Director of Commercial Banking - JPMorgan Chase Bank

 

Kellie Adami

 Managing Partner - Dixon Schwabl

John Balduzzi

CEO - Balduzzi Group

Adam Fay

Senior Vice President, Operations - First American Equipment Finance

Paul Guglielmo

Founder and CEO - Guglielmo Sauce, Permac Enterprises

Chris Huels 

Director of Commerical Strategy - Constellation Brands

 Rachel Laber Pulvino

Director of Public Relations & Community - Visit Rochester

Anne McGinnis

 Associate Attorney - Harris Beach

Chantz Miles

Entrepreneur and

Business Consultant

Timothy Muck

Partner - Barclay Damon, LLP

Jonathan Ogden

Vice President Middle Market Banker  - Key Bank

Mike Richtmyer

Vice President of Finance and Admin

- The Pike Companies

Anthony Smith

Product Engineer Manager - General Motors

Paul Sylvestri

Partner - Harter, Secrest and Emery

Kevin Tehan

Senior Benefits Consultant - Lawley Insurance

Chris Thevanesan

Store Manager - Starbucks

Sara VanStrydonck

Chief of Child Abuse Bureau  -Monroe County DA

Michael Vaughn

Senior Manager, Systems Engineering

- L3 Harris