Our History

Big Brothers Big Sisters (BBBS) of Greater Rochester has served a five county region of Upstate New York for the past 34 years.

 

The 1960's

Following the racial riots of the 1960's, a group of African American women decided their children needed male role models. They founded the agency known as Rochester Community Involvement. At about the same time, a parallel organization was developed to work with youngsters on probation. This organization was known as Volunteers in Partnership. As these agencies developed and grew, the common ground, children matched with volunteers, became evident to funders. Local funders recommended that the agencies merge to insure financial security and avoid duplication of services.

____________________

In 1981

The joining of those two agencies by United Way did just that. The merger took place in 1978 and the agency became known as Community Partners for Youth, Inc. In 1981, the merged organization became affiliated with the national organization of Big Brothers Big Sisters of America.

_____________________

BBBSA

Big Brothers Big Sisters of America (BBBSA) is a national non-profit organization that started in 1904 to combat the rising tide of juvenile delinquency and the increase of children coming before the courts. Since then, Big Brothers Big Sisters expanded services to help children across the country and abroad. BBBS is the nation's oldest and largest youth mentoring organization. Programs in all 50 states match kids with mentors who provide meaningful friendships, helping children reach their full potential and fulfill their dreams.

______________________

BBBSR (Big Brothers Big Sister of Greater Rochester)

Today our agency serves a diverse population with 50% residing in the city and 50% residing in surrounding counties. Our children primarily come from single-parent families headed by a female. Currently, over 600 youth receive services in Ontario, Monroe, Yates, Livingston and Wayne County.

BBBSR serves over 900 youth each year through its programming. is funded through private gifts, grants, and special events.

Our Team

We are here to help you start something!

From our Executive Team to our Board of Directors, Big Brothers Big Sisters has a compassionate and dedicated group of individuals on our side that are willing to do whatever it takes to help change children’s lives for the better.

Kate Bonno

Kate Bonno
Volunteer Recruitment and Enrollment Coordinator

kbonno@bbbsr.org

585-474-9474

Mary - OFFICIAL

Mary Z. Bruno
Match Coordinator

mbruno@bbbsr.org

585-953-1459

IMG_3651sm

Tina Christensen
Chief Executive Officer

tchristensen@bbbsr.org

Laurie - OFFICIAL

Laurie Colasurdo
Accountant

lcolasurdo@bbbsr.org

 

Yesenia Fonseca

Yesenia Fonesca
Office Assistant

yfonesca@bbbsr.org

585-474-9474

Floyd - OFFICIAL

Floyd Gibson Jr.
Match Coordinator

fgibsonjr@bbbsr.org

585-397-0621

Rachael - OFFICIAL

Rachael Gochenaur
Special Events Coordinator

rgochenaur@bbbsr.org

585-410-0151

IMG_3718sm

Mary Jepson
School Based Match Coordinator

mjepson@bbbsr.org

315-719-4869

 

 

 

COMING SOON! 
Community Development - Americorps Vista

Dorothy - OFFICIAL

Dorothy Kelley
Development Officer

dkelley@bbbsr.org

585-481-4477

IMG_3693sm (1)

Lisa Mattoon
Chief Program Officer

lmattoon@bbbsr.org

315-576-1475

IMG_3738sm

Magaly Rosario
Program Manager

mrosario@bbbsr.org

585-469-3413

IMG_3782sm

Krista Schrader
School Based Match Coordinator

kschrader@bbbsr.org

315-719-1817

IMG_3767sm

Lisa Sweeney
Match Coordinator

lsweeney@bbbsr.org

315-719-4869

Our Leaders

Board of Directors

Leading us in the right direction

Connor Holly
Board President
Financial Advisor - Sage Rutty, Inc.

Chris Cimini
 Board Vice President
CFO - Buckingham Properties

Bob Bartelone
Board Secretary
Regional Sales Manager - Dr. Pepper Snapple

Timothy Muck
Board Treasurer
Lacy Katzen, LLP

Jesse Allen

  Community Volunteer - Past President Graduate Chapter Alpha Phi Alpha

John Balduzzi

CEO - Balduzzi Group

Casey Fitzgerald

Commercial Banker - JP Morgan Chase Bank

Paul Guglielmo

Founder - Guglielmo Sauce

Co-Host/Producer - The Brother Wease Show

Charlie Knittle

 Corporate Controller - Royal Oak Trust

Anne McGinnis

 Associate Attorney - Harris Beach

Stacie Muldoon

Director of Marketing  - Mengel Metzger and Barr

Jonathan Ogden

Vice President Middle Marker Banker  - Key Bank

Javier Quintana

Vice President - Canandaigua National Bank

Anthony Smith

Product Engineer Manager - General Motors

Paul Sylvestri

Partner - Harter, Secrest and Emory

Kevin Tehan

Senior Benefits Consultant - Lawley Insurance